Riot (US)

Line Up:

  • Mark Reale (RIP 2012) - Guitar
  • Tony Moore - Vocals
  • Mike Flyntz - Guitar
  • Don Van Stavern - Bass
  • Bobby Jarzombek - Drums



"'Thundersteel' has everything that makes metal great."- All Music Guide

After initial success in the early 80’s, iconoclastic metal band RIOT rose from the ashes after a few years of silence to release THUNDERSTEEL (CBS 1988), an album that would become as celebrated as the new line-up that spawned it: Mark Reale (guitars), Tony Moore (vocals), Don Van Stavern (bass), Bobby Jarzombek (drums), and Mike Flyntz (guitars) who joined the group during RIOT's first triumphant 'Thundersteel' Tour of Japan. 

Their follow-up release, THE PRIVILEGE OF POWER (CBS 1990), flexed RIOT’s creativity and metal muscles even further, cementing renewed fan interest around the world, particularly in Europe and Japan. In the ensuing years, the 'Thundersteel' line-up became near-legendary in the metal canon. They were hailed as “the bridge between Priest and speed metal” and have been heralded as an influence by many, including Hammerfall who cover RIOT’s “Flight Of The Warrior” off 'Thundersteel' on their new CD, 'Masterpieces.' 

And now RIOT is BACK!

With Reale, Moore, Van Stavern, Jarzombek, and Flyntz joining forces once again for the first in some 20 years, the RIOT saga adds another exciting chapter. Most importantly, RIOT are eager to prove their mettle and continued vitality with a new album which was released in October / November 2011 and was awarded various "album of the year" and "comback album" titles.

Unfortunately Mark Reale could only briefly witness the enormous comeback this legendary band is facing now. He was submitted to a hospital mid of January 2012 just before the first Riot US tour dates in 2012 and was not able to play the shows. On 25th January, he sadly passed away in San Antonio, having lost hs live long battle with Crohns desease.

RIP Mark - you and your music will never be forgotten and you will live on in our hearts! Shine on!



You will find the full discography here


Label Japan: Avalon/Marquee

Label Rest of World: Steamhammer/SPV


Please visit the band sites for tour dates, music and regular updates:


Above Symmetry (Norway)

In 2010 five young musicians from Skien, Norway, made a very impressive entrance into the Metal world with their debut album "Ripples", released by none less than top progressive label InsideOut Music.... READ MORE

Atle Pettersen (Norway)

Atle Pettersen is the charismatic front man of Norway’s upcoming prog metal band ABOVE SYMMETRY. In September 2010 Atle was selected to be one of the 12 finalists in Norway’s TV show “X Factor” and made a stunning second place in this tough competition. ... READ MORE


Formed in 2008 and signed to Rising Records in 2011, debut album "Outshine The Sun" released September 5th 2011... READ MORE

Power Quest (UK)

POWER QUEST was conceived in March 2001 by keyboardist Steve Williams after he left London power metal act DragonHeart – now known as Dragonforce.... READ MORE

Riot (US)

Eighties metal legends RIOT are back with their classic “Thundersteel” line-up!... READ MORE

The Scheen

The Scheen is a Norwegian rock band from Oslo.... READ MORE

Latest Releases

Riot - Immortal Soul

The comeback master piece of US Metal legends RIOT, out in October on Avalon/Marquee and Steamhammer/SPV... READ MORE